Epsilon Rho

at University of Southern Maine

Chapter History

The History of the Epsilon Rho Chapter of Alpha Xi Delta

       In May of the year 1966, Roberta Shaw and Dorothea Wilbur were granted permission to start a new sorority at Gorham State College, a predecessor institution to the University of Southern Maine. The new, local sorority was known as Sigma Chi Omega. In April 1967, Sigma Chi Omega was officially recognized by the college. In September 1967, a desire to affiliate nationally was expressed and twelve women worked to make this dream a reality, two of whom would become founding sisters of Epsilon Rho.

Linda Ashe                       Dot Piette*

 Louise Bourgot                Roberta Shaw*

JoAnn Eaton                   Linda Tonini

Jane Estes                     Kerry Turcotte

       Ellen Fowler                         Judith Walsh      

 Doreen Gordon                    Dorothea Wilbur

*Founding sisters of Epsilon Rho, per the Charter.

Roberta Shaw appears on the Charter as Roberta R. Randall.


      In 1968, Sigma Chi Omega affiliated with Alpha Xi Delta. The Epsilon Rho chapter of Alpha Xi Delta was formally established at Gorham State College on September 28, 1968, which later became known as the University of Southern Maine. Thirty-nine founding sisters are listed on the original Charter:


Deborah L. Beers

Dawn Keefe

Sharon O. Nickerson

Roberta S. Randall

Elaine R. Stewart

Sherry L. Burrows

Victoria L. Manzer

Louise E. Nutter

Janice Ranta

Elaine S. St. Pierre

Anita S. Bussiere

Linda A. McLaughlin

Jean M. Ouelette

Kathryn M. Shaw

Martha A. Tibbetts

Rachel A. Davis

Jerilyn McHaffey

Mary E. Paoletti

Thersea A. Shea

Patricia F. Wallace

Marjorie E. Delano

Mary A. Michaud

Doris P. Peitte

Jonnie M. Smith

Beth Wilson

Katheleen Faherty

Marianne Mills

Carole L. Pomroy

JoAnn U. Spauling

Linda M. Wotherspoon

Suzanne Jackman

Margaret M. Miniutti

Janet M. Pothier

Sherry A. Spearin

Joyce E. Wyman

Judith R. Jackson

Jane M. Mullen

Sandra L. Potter

Sharon Spinney


       Alpha Xi Delta was the first Panhellenic sorority to establish on the Gorham campus. We were followed by Phi Mu in 1969 and Delta Zeta in 1973. These three groups were the only National Panhellenic groups to exist on campus and Alpha Xi Delta is the last group remaining active.